Mt. Emei is one of the four celebrated Buddhist Mountains in China. It is said that Buddhism was brought to Mt. Emei in the first century BC. After nearly 2,000 years of development, Mt. Emei has become a place rich in Buddhist heritage, which has made it an influential sacred place in China and even in the whole world. There are vivid and exquisite statues of Buddha made of clay, wood, jade, bronze and porcelain. As one of the three genres of Chinese martial art in China, Mt. Emei has gained its reputation both at home and abroad.
Here are some well-known monasteries:
Baoguo monastery (Nationdedicating monastery) is the first temple one meets along the mountain way. It was built in the 16th century, enlarged in the 17th century by Emperor Kangxi and recently renovated. Its 3.5-meter porcelain Buddha, made in 1415,is housed near the Sutra Library. To the left of the gate is a rockery for potted miniature trees and rare plants. The first hall here is the Laughing Buddha Hall dedicated to the Laughing Buddha. Stepping out of the first hall, tourists can find the Great Hero Hall dedicated to Sakyamuni, sitting on a lotus flower. On both sides of the hall, there are 18 arhats. Following from the hall, is the Seven Buddhas Hall. The seven Buddhas, molded in gold and each 20 meters high, sit cross-legged on a blue-brick-base. The last hall in the temple is the Hall of Universal Benevolence God. The hall has two storeys. The first storey is dedicated to the god of Universal Benevolence, and the second floor contains the depository for Buddhist doctrines. Besides the four main halls, there are several pavilions, platforms and guestrooms within the temple. The temple has the typical structure of Chinese ancient garden covers an area of more than 10 acres. Every yard of the temple is quite different from another by its unique and wonderful landscape with a nearby forest enhancing a sense of tranquility.
Wannian Monastery (Ten Thousand Year Monastery) is the oldest surviving Mt.Emei monastery. It's dedicated to a Puxian's image on the white elephant, which is worshiped in the mountain.
The Bodhisattva Puxian, who is the protector of the mountain. His 7.36 m-high statue is dated from AD 980, cast in copper and bronze and weighs an estimated 62 tons. If you can manage to rub the elephant's back, good luck will be cast upon you.
The statue is housed in Brick Hall, a domed building with small stupas on it. When the temple was damaged by fire in 1945, Brick Hall was the only building left unharmed. There is also a graveyard to the rear of the temple.
Named the Pure Sound Pavilion because of the sound effects produced by rapid water percussion around rock formations in the area. The temple itself is built on an outcrop in the middle of a fast-flowing stream. There are small pavilions from which to observe the waterworks and appreciate the natural music. It's possible to swim here although the water is only likely to be warm enough during the summer months.