Wannian monastery, one of the eight temples in Mt. Emei, It was firstly built in the 2nd year of Yuanxi
Period in East Jin Dynasty, and named 'Samantabhadra Temple' at that time. It was renamed White Water Samantabhadra Temple in Song Dynasty. In the 28th year of Wanli Period in Ming Dynasty (1600 A.D.), the hall without beam brick was built and then completed in the second year and changed its name to Shengshou Ten Thousand Year Temple. Now the temple has five halls: temple gate, Maitreya Hall, Brick Hall, Lofty Precious Hall and the Main Hall. The brick Hall of Ten Thousand Year Temple is one of the marvelous spectacles of the ancient construction in China. This building has experienced 18 earthquakes in these 400
years but still been safe and sound, therefore, it is considered as the miracle of Chinese ancient construction history. One copper statue of Samantabhadra Bodhisattva Riding Six-ivory White Elephant made in Song Dynasty stands in the hall. The statue is 7.85m high and weighs 62 tons. For it has a history of more than one thousand years, it's regarded as the rare national treasure. In 1986, Maitreya Hall, Prajna Hall, Nether World Bell Pavilion, Drum-tower Corridor and Temple Gate have been rehabilitated.